More. Then Enough.

More

If I could just _____ then I would _____

This is the essence of MORE.

More says, “I am not good the way I am. There is something else I need.”

More will never stop yelling this.

More is a glutton with an appetite that can’t be satisfied.

More doesn’t understand words like “satisfied” or “content” since these indicate pleasure with the way things are.

More insists that while things may be fine, they could be better and so satisfaction with what is is settling for less than what could be.

There is always more. More to imagine. More to dream. More to pursue. More to acquire.

Enough

I am enough. I have enough.

The essence of enough is that the life we have been given is good the way it is.

Enough says, “Things may not be perfect, but I have everything I need right here in front of me.”

Enough invites us to turn off the stress of pursuing an insatiable pursuit of ____ and instead see the beauty already around us.

Enough is easily satisfied.

Enough doesn’t understand concepts like “if only” or “when I just” since these indicate something is missing in order for us to experience enjoyment.

Enough insists things are fine. Enough with striving for impossible dreams that will only fill your life with unneeded things and hardships.

You have enough. You can be satisfied, content, and fulfilled just the way you are. You are enough.

——

“When we grew up,
Our shadows grew up too.
But they’re just old ghosts
That we grow attached to.
The tragic flaw is that they hide the truth
That you’re enough.
I promise you’re enough.
I promise you’re enough, I promise you.
‘You are enough.’
These little words, somehow they’re changing us.
‘You are enough,’
So we let our shadows fall away like dust.”

– Sleeping at Last, You Are Enough

Leave a Reply

